Books,  Fashion,  Looks

Throne of Glass Book Series

As many of you know if you keep up with my book talk, I’m obsessed with the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas. After I finished A Court of Silver Flames, the latest book in the ACOTAR series, I read Maas’ previous series, Throne of Glass, which is completed.

In short, I absolutely loved the series. If you’ve read ACOTAR, this is a little more fighting/war/battle focused than romance, but there is romance in it as well. Just not as steamy as some of the later ACOTAR books. It’s also connected to ACOTAR as there are one or two definite references during the series to locations and little easter eggs of Feyre and Rhysand from ACOTAR. They’re not mentioned by name, but if you’re familiar you’ll know it’s definitely them that one of the ToG character gets a glimpse of. I haven’t read Maas’ new series, Crescent City, yet but there is a reference to that book in ToG as well so I can only assume that eventually Maas may tie them all together for real.

Anyway, it’s really hard to talk about Throne of Glass without giving away spoilers because even just trying to tell you who the main characters are would give too much away! What I can tell you is that the first novel starts with Celaena Sardothien, a highly trained and infamous assassin, who was captured and enslaved in the salt mines of Endovier. When the novel begins, she is being released in the care of Prince Dorian Havilliard of Adarlan and his Captain of Royal Guard, Chaol Westfall. There is a competition, each prominent person of the King’s court choosing a champion, to battle and the winner will serve as the King’s Champion. Celaena hates the king for many reasons, but if she wins the competition and promises to serve him she’ll be freed from prison.

That’s the premise of the first novel, Throne of Glass, and then it goes into a whole world of battles and magic and fae and otherworldly Gods etc. for the rest of the books! Of course, I can’t tell you what those are about without giving anything away!

The order of the books in the series are: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Assassin’s Blade (this is a prequel but typically read 3rd and helps you understand some of the future characters and backstories), Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, Empire of Storms, Tower of Dawn (this is told from Chaol’s point of view and takes place at the same time as Empire of Storms but from where Chaol is which will make sense once you get to this point!), and Kingdom of Ash.

It took me a few months to read this series since I was reading other things at the same time and I didn’t want to rush through them. The more I love a book, the more I want to savor them. It always takes me the longest to read the last book in a series or the end of something because I don’t want them to end!

I definitely went through withdrawals when I finished at Christmas because I’ve spent so much time reading about these characters and being immersed in the ToG world. But at least I can reread them in the future and since ToG is somewhat connected to Maas’ other series maybe I’ll see these characters again one day!

Also, how cute is my sweatshirt? It says “She was Aelin Ashryver Galathynius and she would not be afraid”. I got it from Etsy and the seller called Caronshop. The original color I ordered was “Sand” but it ending up being sold out and the seller was really kind and messaged me about it being out of stock and asking me what color I’d like instead. I’ll link to the sweatshirt below! The crown was from a book PR package I got last year.

If you’ve read Throne of Glass let me know your thoughts! If you haven’t and you’re into fantasy romance with fae, fighting, and love, check this series out! Also if you know any other series that is of this genre, let me know!

*This post contains affiliate links.*

Welcome to my blog! I'm a teacher during the day and lifestyle blogger by night. I love pop culture, entertainment/TV/movies/music, food, beauty, travel & fashion!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: